Quality Legal Representation

Serving South Florida Since 1988

DUI: An Expensive Night Out

It’s the holiday season and you’re going out with friends. After paying the cover charge, having several drinks at a local hotspot, and maybe some food, you’re feeling a bit lightheaded and a lot lighter in the wallet. Then, you make the poor decision to drive. After all, it’s been a great night, what can go wrong? A lot, as it turns out!

The police pull you over, give you a field sobriety test, and arrest you for DUI.

Florida Statutory Penalties

For a first DUI conviction, you are facing certain mandatory sentences, such as:

  • 6-month driver license suspension

  • DUI Program/ referred treatment

  • 50 Community service hours

  • $500 fine plus court costs

  • 10 day vehicle immobilization

  • 6 –12 month probationary period

  • Possible 6 – 24 month vehicle ignition interlock device

  • Potential jail sentence up to 6 months

If you have already been convicted of a prior DUI, the penalties may be even greater.

Don’t Go It Alone

Click here for more information about how having an experienced attorney on your side to help navigate the system on your behalf.